At the Drive-In!

Last night, I went to my very first Drive-In! I must say I absolutely loved it! My hubby and I went to see The Avengers, although I must say, I was totally distracted by the other nearby movie screens. I felt like I saw three movies at once, with only one of them having sound.

Snow White and the Huntsman was behind me, Men and Black III to my right, it was Crazytown, USA!

I loved that the Drive-In had a ‘camp’ feeling. People were sitting in their cars with coolers full of beer and snacks, kids were running up and down the parking lot, there was a live band somewhere in another lot playing thrash music. It was totally my scene.

While I was standing in line for refreshments, I couldn’t help but flashback to the scene in Pee-Wee’s Big Adventure where he grabs the big box of candy and gives stuff to his friends. The Drive-In took me to a childhood dream infused with camping, concerts, and old school movies I like. It.was.heaven.on.a.stick. I’m totally converted!

Are you a fan of the Drive-In? If so, what is your Drive-In like and what did you see? I think I will have a hard time going back to a movie theater, where I cannot see the full moon slowly etching through the sky or feel the warm summer wind at my cheeks. Drive-in, YOU ROCK!

2 thoughts on “At the Drive-In!

  1. I love the Drive-In! My first (and only) gave you two movies for $6 a person! TWO. MOVIES! I loved hanging out with all the friends, watching the screen from a sofa we loaded into back of one guy’s truck. I remember trying to park the “I think I can Van” between a car and one of the poles (just after getting my license!). It was so traumatic. Eventually I gave up and had one of my friends park the damn thing for me. But, oh the memories! Especially Pee Wee’s Big Adventure! hehe

    • YES!!! I would love to go to a Drive-In with you, D.B.! I really loved it and I can’t wait to go back…which may be next weekend. And the weekend after that and so on…and so on…

Leave a Reply

